At Lea Manor High School we are proud to be led by a proactive team of Governors who are representative of the community in Luton and beyond.

Our Governors provide the leadership of the school with the challenge to ensure we best serve the local community, our pupils and their parents.

We do not have committees, Governors meet every half term to deal with issues and statutory requirements.


The Governors’ Role

Our team of Governors comprises a group of local people with a range of experience and expertise who are representatives of the local community. Many have a thorough working knowledge of the school.


The main roles of the Governing Body are threefold:

Perspective: The governing body focus on helping the school’s strategy for improvement so that students learn effectively and achieve the highest standards.

Advice: They provide the Headteacher and staff with support, advice and information, drawing upon members’ knowledge and experience. The governing body exists to promote the interests of the school and the wellbeing of the students.

Accountability. The governing body is responsible for ensuring good quality education in the school. The Headteacher and staff report to the governing body on the school’s performance and the governing body has the right to discuss, question and refine proposals, whilst always respecting the professional roles of the Headteacher and staff and their responsibilities for the management of the school. In its turn the governing body answers for its actions, above all to the parents and the wider community for the school’s overall performance.

Governing Body 2016 is as follows:

Amanda Simpson - Headteacher also Chair of Governors at Whitefield Primary School

Lincoln James - Chair of Governors

Yvette Roberts – Parent Governor

Georgina Leelodharry – Parent Governor (SEN)

Terry Davis – Vice-Chair (Safeguarding) also governor Challney Girls, Pirton Hill Primary School

Sharon flowers -  Sponsorship Governor

Viv Dunington - LA Community Governor 

Peter Glenister -  Partnership Governor

Minutes for the Governors meetings are available on request.